Room Film Review

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
Brie Larson Brie Larson
Jacob Tremblay Jacob Tremblay
Sean Bridgers Sean Bridgers

Plot- After five-year-old Jack and his mother escape from the enclosed surroundings that Jack has known his entire life, the boy makes a thrilling discovery.

Review- Room is an amazing film.

Really, really depressing and I have no intention of ever seeing it again. Ever. Under any circumstances. But it’s an amazing film nonetheless.

At it’s core are two incredible performances from Brie Larson (who plays Ma), a woman trapped for seven years in a 10 x 10 foot room and Jacob Trembley (who plays Jack), a 5 year old who has never set foot outside of Room.

We feel the love that they have for each other and the way that Ma has made the most out of what she has whilst enduring an unimaginable torment of being the play-thing of a man that she has simply dubbed “Old Nick” (Which is an old nick-name for The Devil)

it’s hard for me to think of one thing I disliked about the film. It’s slightly slow, but that makes sense in the context of the story. The narration is perfect, helping us to see things from Jack’s point of view without becoming over-bearing. At no point did I check my watch or regard a character as ‘the weak link.’ and at a few points tears were threatening. It truly is worth believing in all the hype- although you might want to have some sort of silly cat video ready to go when you get home.

And that’s also the only issue I have with the film. I call it the Schindler’s List issue. Both films are amazing, incredible and everybody should watch them, except I really can’t think of a reason why you’d want to watch them more than once. But you really need to see them both at least once.

My Score- See It. 

Leave a comment