The Purge: Election Year Review

I would love to purge whichever lunatic intern decided to release this film on the 26th of August over here in the UK, after all, the damn thing was released in the USA on the first of July! And I can assure you that by this point in time, whatever deranged niche wanted this film has downloaded it, watched it and long since forgotten it.

But then again, missing the mark has so far been the entire trademark of this absolute giant clanking wide open goal. Because I love the idea behind this franchise! A night where all crime is legal (although everyone forgets about every other crime than murder) could have lead to all sorts of films about morality, ethics, the hero’s and the psychotics, bloody pulpy violence on the streets matched up by the people in cool rooms marketing an monitoring it. And instead, what have we been given?

A home invasion movie, a pretty poor remake of The Warriors and now this, the alleged end to this waste of a franchise.

And it is the closest to what I wanted from a purge movie. I wouldn’t recommend trying to follow the plot because its not important. Instead, treat this as a series of short films set over the same night. Because as an actual film, it’s a bit of a mess.

Is this character that’s had set up dialogue, theme music, and a bit of a personality the villain? Nope. Their dead.

Is it about the murder tourists that get not just a news broadcast but actual lines of dialogue spoken about them? Nope.

Ok then, I’ll settle for the generic racist thugs with unlimited ammo, tech and men. Like I have in so many films. ZZZzzzzz

And even leaving aside the fact that this film changed villains more than I change socks, this film still seems to be embarrassed by its own existence. It’s very poorly lit, with characters that i’ll be generous and call cardboard, but and I know this is going to seem ghoulish but it just wasn’t violent enough for me. I mean, this is a violent film with people getting shot, stabbed, cut and run over just for a few examples but it always cuts away as if that’s not what people paid their money to see.

I did like the fact that the same characters turned up and we get to see how these characters are surviving in their world but owing to the blandness of this series as a whole and a complete lack of interest on my part to watch the other films again I was often desperately trying to remember  who did what and why.

Overall, I left this film feeling vaguely annoyed because whilst this film is still the closest to what I wanted from this franchise, it’s still nowhere near the ultimate satire of the dog-eat-dog nature of capitalism in an extremely violent setting? That film, I’d buy for a dollar.

My Score- If Nothing Else


 

Leave a Reply

