Captain America: Civil War Review

You know Marvel- there’s being good at something and then there’s just plain showing off. But if this is your apology for Avengers: Age of CGI AND managing to break Joss Wheedon then I accept it completely. Just don’t let it happen again.

This isn’t a good film, this isn’t a great film- according to IMDB it’s the 80th greatest film of all time and I think it’s the second best blockbuster I’ve ever seen after Mad Max Fury Road. 

Which puts me in something of a quandary- I’m a critic. I’m meant to criticize but the only criticism I can level is that the characters seem to survive things that should turn them into jam  and that the locations are announced with words that take up the whole screen rather than being placed in one of the bottom corners. That’s it! Even I can’t get that petty.

Hell, Marvel even seems to have realized that they can’t create a decent villain and have gotten around that by not really bothering with one. There’s a ‘make the plot move’ guy but I wouldn’t call him a villain.

The action is intense and fast paced. The directors (who also brought us  Captain America:Winter Soldier) have kept the CGI to a minimum and brought actual physical stunts to a maximum.

The film flows logically and builds to an incredibly inventive fight scene at an airport where every characters deploys their abilities to the maximum. Oh and did I mention unlike some other films I could mention this one juggles it’s huge cast effectively and doesn’t desperately throw new characters at us in a desperate bid to keep us involved?

Its a deeper plot than the other Marvel films showing that the Freedom Versus Security isn’t going anywhere and probably never will. And that neither side is completely in the right or wrong.

Enough gushing. You and I both know where this is going.

My Score- See It Now!

 

Leave a Reply

