Triple 9 Review

Cast

Credited cast, sorted by IMDb STARmeter:
Teresa Palmer Teresa Palmer
Kate Winslet Kate Winslet
Irina Vlaslov
Gal Gadot Gal Gadot
Elena
Norman Reedus Norman Reedus
Russel Welch
Aaron Paul Aaron Paul
Gabe Welch
Casey Affleck Casey Affleck
Chris Allen
Woody Harrelson Woody Harrelson
Chiwetel Ejiofor Chiwetel Ejiofor
Terrell Tompkins
Anthony Mackie Anthony Mackie
Marcus Atwood

Plot- A gang of criminals and corrupt cops plan the murder of a police officer in order to pull off their biggest heist yet across town.

Review- ‘Here we go’, thought I settling in to watch this film. No more 12a CGI filled pap, instead, a proper old-school thriller with shades of grey and, it’s got an awesome cast as well!

And when I left the auditorium 115 minutes later…. I was still waiting to see it.

No, seriously, either they forgot to hire a lighting guy or he quit very early on in production I could barely see a damn thing. And when I could see what was happening, either the camera was slightly out of focus, or everyone needed to take a step back as I really had trouble focusing on what was happening. And that’s not including thee mumbled dialogue

Also, about half-way through, I realized that I had no idea who I was supposed to be rooting for. Was it Kate Winslet’s Jewish/Russian Maffia Boss and her attempts to get her husband released/ hold on to her Russian Accent? Or the dirty cops who were trying to… get paid I think. It can’t have been Casey Afflecks character can it? He spent more time being rescued than Princess Peach. And certainly not Woody Harrelson’s permanently drunk, drug taking deus ex machnia?

Oh, and forget about the action packed film you were expecting this film has a hell of a lot of talk, not much planning and very few (adequately shot if unexciting) shootouts. In fact, I noticed quite a few people walking out of my screening.

Although it’s nice to see an old-school hard-boiled thriller, this is hard to watch, with muttered dialogue, unsympathetic characters and a very draggy pace.

My Score- If Nothing Else

Leave a Reply

