The Least Profitable Films of 2015?

Ok, so Forbes has (slightly early) released the least profitable films of 2015 and to say that I found it… interesting is an understatement.

Least Profitable Films Of 2015
1. Rock The Kasbah
2. The Gunman
3. Blackhat
4. Unfinished Business
5. Jem & The Holograms
6. Self/Less
7. American Ultra
8. We Are Your Friends
9. Aloha
10. Mortdecai

Now I’m not saying that these films (the ones that I’ve seen) didn’t deserve to flop but where are the big ones? In a year that gave us Jupiter Ascending, Pan, Fantastic 4 AND Terminator Genysis are these films really less profitable?

Forbes explains: We ranked movies based on what percentage of their estimated production budgets they earned back at the theater as of November 18th, 2015 to find this year’s biggest flops. We only looked at movies that opened in more than 2,000 theaters; we did not include films released in November. All box office data is worldwide from Box Office Mojo.

Ok… So as a percentage of its box office versus their production budgets Jem and the Holograms made less than Pan! The budget for Jem was roughly  5 million dollars! What, where the only people who saw this film the directer and his mum?

I do like that Forbes has decided that there will be no flops for the rest of the year though, I’ll let Victor Frankenstein and Love the Coopers know that they can breathe  easily. Before I get my grubby little claws on them anyway.

I understand how they came to this list, but releasing it in November gets my hackles up as it assumes that there will be no flops in the last 6 weeks of the year. How can Forbes know that? If there’s a bigger flop will they print a new list? I not even thinking about my own lists until January 1st for this very reason.

Finally, I’m 100% convinced that none of these films will remain flops forever, I can see cult followings for several of them and endless re-runs on late night TV for the rest. But it’s still an interesting read regardless.

What do you guys think?

 

Leave a Reply

