The Bad Education Movie Review

The Bad Education Movie (2015) Poster

   Cast

Plot- Mr Wickers and his class go on one final school trip after they finish their GCSEs.

Review- I am aware that comedy is subjective. Therefore, when I go to review one I try to take along a member of it’s intended audience to ensure that I have a balanced opinion on whether or not it was actually funny.

Unfortunately, the RSPCA has restricted my access to freshly lobotomized Baboons after…. theincidntofwhichweshallneverspeakagain. And so I was forced to drag my poor girlfriend along as we both sat back and endured… the funniest film I’ve seen all year.

Seriously, within about thirty seconds we were laughing almost without stopping. One scene involving a peanut and a wine glass had my girlfriend fearing that she was going to stop breathing.

I’m not going to pretend that this is “fun for all the family”. Do not under any circumstances take your mum to see this film as the humor starts low and goes lower. And it starts with a group of students in the Ann Frank Museum giving their teacher Magic Mushrooms before attempting to queue jump by getting a student in a wheelchair to act as though he is extremely mentally disabled.

Many TV Shows attempt to make the big leap to the silver screen and generally anything that calls itself “The (Insert shows name here) Movie” Is to be treated with extreme caution. But here, the plot makes sense. Everything is explained, every joke set up, there were no magic leaps of logic or gaping plot holes. Which is incredibly rare for this type of film.

The soundtrack is perfect for this type of film, with everything from Cat Stevens to Dizzy Rascall without missing a beat. I wouldn’t buy it, but it fits in perfectly with the film.

I’m not going to pretend that this is some deep think piece with characters that grow and change and adapt, they don’t. They start off as stereotypes and finish as stereotypes and I couldn’t tell you any of their names if my life depended upon it but they were all funny, with not a single one slowing up the pace or flow of the film. Instead they seemed as keen as I was to heap some new indignity on their hapless teacher Alfie Wickers (Jack Whitehall).

The ‘plot’ which rears its head about half way into the film is carefully handled for maximum laughs and its the first time I’ve seen a comedic film handling terrorism since Four Lions (See this film immediately).

The Bad Education Movie also wins the coveted award for “Best use of a Game of Thrones Actor” for Iain Glen (who plays Jorah Mormont).

I cant believe i’m about to say this, but my score for The Bad Education Movie?

SEE IT NOW!

Leave a Reply

