Where did all the good films go?

I’ve started to look towards my end of year lists and have come to a realization.

This year has been awful for films.

I mean it! Looking over my reviews for the year, i’m struck by just how many films I’ve rated as “Poor” or “If Nothing Else,” I mean I wasn’t expecting every film to be awesome but I was hoping for more than this. Almost all of the big films have been huge CGI set pieces that I’ve forgotten not long after uploading the video and even the smaller films have been disappointing, staying within their comfort zones and not trying anything new or exciting.

Partly this is my own fault, there are on average 20 films released in the UK every week of which I normally see 2, giving me a viewing rate of about 10%, so I know that I’ve missed at least some good films. But that doesn’t solve my issue.

This isn’t to say I haven’t enjoyed this years films. Because I have, it’s just that now i’m starting to look at my year end lists, I’m starting to realize that my top ten list is pretty threadbare compared with the ample pickings for my bottom ten. (Does Fantastic Four even count as a film?)

Are my standards just too high? I expect a film to tell a story, have interesting characters, effect me in an emotional way, and so many films this year just haven’t done that. Looking ahead, there are very few films that i’m excited about (The Martian, In The Heart Of The Sea) but for the rest i’m either indifferent or just confused by their existence (Peter Pan doesn’t need a!”@!!@”! origin story!)

And that not forgetting the cash grabs, who’s reason to exist is purely to wring some more blood from a pretty dry stone. (looking at you Hunger Games and Transporter)

But actual films? Good, well made, thought out films? Where are they? How do I get them to come back? And, would you lot mind if I just a did a bottom 20 and skipped the top ten this year?

Leave a Reply

