So that’s why there are no female Minions

I seem to have been the only critic to have enjoyed the Minions movie, giving it my equivalent of a 4* rating compared to other critics who have given it 2 to 3 star reviews.

But i’m not here today to defend my scoring system (that’s what the review is for.) I’m here to talk about some comments that the film has made regarding the Minions gender.

Because every single one is male.

Every

Single

One

The director of Minions has stated that “Seeing how dumb and stupid they often are, I just couldn’t imagine Minions being girls.” Because I’ve certainly never seen any girl act in anything other than a calm, collected and intelligent manner. Ever.

To me, this smacks of well meaning sexism. It’s a very rare day that I don’t see some form of Minion merchandise clutched in the hands of some small child. And it’s pretty evenly spaced about between the genders.

And to me, there was no reason for him to say this. There was no reason to give the Minions genders at all. But by making this statement he’s put a bad taste ion my mouth regarding the whole thing. I liked Minions, I liked the Despicable Me films.  And this just spoils those films for me.

What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

