Entourage Review

Entourage (2015) Poster

FILM NAME -ENTOURAGE

DIRECTED BY- Doug Ellin

Starring- Kevin Connolly, Adrian Grenier, Kevin Dillon, Jerry Ferrara, Jeremy Piven, Billy Bob Thornton and Haley Joel Osment

PLOT- Movie star Vincent Chase, together with his boys Eric, Turtle, and Johnny, are back – and back in business with super agent-turned-studio head Ari Gold on a risky project that will serve as Vince’s directorial debut.

Review-

What on Earth is this? I accepted going in that as it was based on a TV show I wasn’t going to get all of the references and in-jokes and character relationships that build up over an 8 season show. That’s fine. I even wrote a post about it. (https://wordpress.com/post/85923817/19/ if you’re interested)

I also understand that comedy is subjective, so I knew I wouldn’t get or like, all the jokes.

But, as I left the cinema screening and started to head home, I did not hear a single positive thing about the film. Not one person defended it, most were attacking it. Understand, I saw an advance screening that was two thirds full. You would assume that people who had gone to see a film early were fans of the show, but if there were any there, then they were keeping very very quiet.

To the films credit, it did have a (somewhat) flowing narrative, I did chuckle at a few of the jokes and it was shot decently and had a serviceable soundtrack.

But aside from that it was just awful. I’ve seen some bad films since starting to review, but this has to be down there. The constant cameos of stars appearing as themselves (mostly for just a few seconds and for often no plot or comedic purpose) quickly wears out its welcome. I didn’t sympathize with any of the lead characters. I found the humour unrelentingly juvenile and it’s attitude towards women and homosexuals was highly offensive to say the least.

The film suffers from an incredible amount of sup-plots, most of which felt forced in strictly to give each character something to do. Mostly they seemed to pad out the films 104 minute running time.

Like I say, I did laugh at a few of the jokes, but I just didn’t believe in any of the characters, nor did I feel at any point that there was anything at stake. There just didn’t seem to be any jeopardy, and if the characters don’t seem to be invested in their situation then why should I?

So to sum up, mostly insufferable juvenile characters, constant sexism, and homophobia, a barely there plot holding it all together, cameo after cameo, loads of unfunny jokes and a sense of smugness hanging over the whole thing.

I rate it as Poor

I would have loved to rate it lower, but I did laugh at a few jokes, it was adequately shot and the plot did sort of flow. But I still have no intention of watching it again. Ever. Under any circumstances.

My YouTube Review 

One thought on “Entourage Review

Leave a Reply

